Sundries


So, my big client’s check finally cleared in last night which goes a good deal towards getting out of the Big Bank Fuck Up.

I was able to pay Hippy Boat IT Dude Boy back the 180 euros we borrowed from him for Rome Girl’s train ticket and food/cigarette money. I still owe my parents $760 but I’m hoping I can put off paying them back for a week or two or until I sign a couple more jobs and get some deposit money in.

If they need the money this week I can get it to them, but life would be a lot more comfortable if I have time to get some extra money in the door. Of course I’m not going to tell my parents this because I’ve been telling them for months that we have been doing great (and we have) and I don’t want them to start worrying about me or think I’ve been bullshitting them.

That said, I think I will be able to put it off because my dad has said he doesn’t want us to PayPal him the money, that he’d much rather have Rome Girl hand it to him in person. Since she’s in very southern New Jersey without a car and he’s in central New Jersey working full time, the sheer logistics of the two of them getting together should allow for some delay.

As to why he wants to meet with her in person, I’m unsure. It could be to give the parental financial responsibility lecture or he could be just curious how I’m doing. Or he could just want to oggle her boobs. Time will tell.

Meanwhile, I actually got sorta screwed by the way my paycheck cleared. It was supposed to clear in last Monday, so when it was Thursday and nothing had happened I sent the boss an email asking what was up. It turned out they’d changed banks and it was fucking payments up.

On Friday morning he told me that if my check didn’t clear into my bank by the close of business he’d give me a $500 bonus for dealing with the wait. Of course, the money cleared in five minutes before the close of business.

I also ended up missing my shrink appointment last night. I was supposed to see her at 7 p.m. but at 6:30 p.m. the big client contacted me and needed 10 pages of shit written before the end of the day. So I called her up and canceled and it turns out she’ll be on vacation for the next two weeks.

The plus side of this is that I was supposed to give her 100 euros last night (because we owed her for my sessions Rome Girl and I had with her on Tuesday) and that’s 100 euros I now won’t have to pay until September.

The down side of that is that I was really looking forward to venting to her last night. But, fuck it, part of therapy is learning to deal with shit on my own. Hence, this blog entry which is essentially what I would have spewed at my shrink yesterday.

Rome Girl will be getting drunk with Wolf Blitzer this weekend. I told her to ask him if Larry King really smells like onions.

Also, my cat is dumb. I bought a bottle of ice cold water at the cigarette store and then poured some of it in a bowl next to her water bowl. She promptly walked over and drank the warm water instead of the cold.

I’ve been trying to get a hold of my cleaning lady for three days now. I had her number in my old phone that I broke (in a way so embarrassing that even I won’t blog about it) two weeks ago. She wrote the number down for me and either her phone is broke or I’m misreading her hand writing because whenever I call I just get a generic voice mail.

I really want to get in touch with her because I have people staying here on Tuesday and the place looks like shit and I suck at cleaning.

I have to hit the grocery store today. I’m not looking forward to walking back with giant bags of groceries in 39 degree weather. But we need trash bags and buying cheap packets of hot dogs from the bodega after I read the paper and have a few beers at the Vert Anglais is no way to get nutrition into my body.

I’m taking an extra xanax now and will then do some work for the big client before I go back out into the world.

Leave a comment